MOMA Visitors with Disabilities

In the past, we have provided our blog readers with information about accessibility in Indiana museums, including outdoor installations. ¬†Today we are summarizing the accessibility features of the Museum of Modern Art in midtown Manhattan. Deaf and Hard of Hearing Services: Join us for Interpreting MoMA, a bi-monthly program for deaf adults Pick up a […]

Family Fun with WestPoint Financial Group

WestPoint Financial Group is offering you and your family a free “Lights Up Sound Down” movie at Hamilton 16 IMAX! “Lights Up Sound Down” gives families with children who have special needs the opportunity to enjoy their favorite movies in a comfortable, sensory-friendly setting with the lights turned up and the volume down in the […]

Free EASI Webinar: Accessible Widgets Using Web 2.0

Presenter: Hadi Rangen, University of Illinois Wednesday Nov. 3: 11 AM Pacific, Noon Mountain, 1 PM Central and 2 PM Eastern Web 2.0 is a broad and not very accurate term, mainly including a host of new interactive features of the Web. The Web Accessibility Initiative has developed guidelines to make Web 2.0 products accessible. […]

EVENT: ALS, MS and Assistive Technology Training

WHAT: ALS, MS and Assistive Technology Training WHEN: Friday, November 12, 2010 from 9 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. WHERE: Easter Seals Crossroads, 4740 Kingsway Drive, Indianapolis IN 46205 Who should attend: Individuals diagnosed with ALS or MS, therapists, parents, students, educators, vocational rehabilitation counselors, physicians, nurses, and caregivers can benefit from training content. Training content: […]

Save the Date: disABILITES Expo in Ft. Wayne, Indiana

WHAT: disABILITIES Expo, A Day for People with Disabilities to Explore New Possibilities WHEN: Saturday, May 7 2011 from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. WHERE: Allen County War Memorial Coliseum, Fort Wayne Indiana The disABILITIES Expo 2011 will showcase: Adaptive Sports Advocacy and Legal Services Assistive Technology Lab presented by INDATA and Easter Seals Crossroads […]

October is National Disability Employment Awareness Month

Our schools, nonprofits, government agencies, dedicated October as a time to discuss and educate ourselves about the issues related to disability and employment. 1945 – Congress declared “National Employ the Physically Handicapped Week,” which was to occur the first week of October. 1962 – The word “physically” was removed to put the emphasis not on […]